was trying to write an essay for my assignment for technical, scientific and business writing... so i went throught my notes for all other writing units i have done to look for clues on how to start my assignment. and i came across my reading media text book of reader and the actual textbook by one of my favourite lecturers -- michael o'shaughnessy's media & society . i had a read thru the book and to my surprise, i actually found it interesting! for it wasnt the case when i was doing this unit in my first yr, i was struggling with the unit.
especially the ideologies of masculinity and femininity which made me want to read on... is masculinity all about male ego? the ideology that males aren't supposed to cry, they are supposed to be the protectors of everything just an ideology? when the whole world is talking about males and females being equal, i have a question in my head -- is it possible to be of equal status between the two sexes? when will the battle of fighting to be equal come to an end? some articles on relationships i have read earlier told me that men want to be hero to the one they love. they want their ego to be stroked, they too want to be pampered, appreciated, listened to (in short they are eager to please the one they love as well). on the other hand, not many women are actual feminist, in fact, they want to feel protected, pampered, loved and appreciated by men too.
many times when things go wrong in a relationship, especially in the scenerio when the guy had an affair..women are quick to jump to the conclusion that the other woman is always at fault! her husband strayed because this other woman has seduced her husband, and more than often they would form taitai-gangs to beat up the other woman.. they dun seem to know that they themselves are at fault too! (i am NOT saying that the guy is RIGHT to cheat on his wife here). more than often the wives are not alert to catch the clues that things are getting out of hand, things are not right. more than often they might bruise that ego of their husbands, make them feel as if they are good for nothing in a way or another. one of the articles i read suggested that when a guy feel that they couldnt be your hero anymore they will move on to another conquest -- be the hero of another woman, sounds bad but it's the actual case as i have seen in my life. that was the very same reason why some of my friends cheat on their partners.
so whats wrong with this society? IMO: more than often that the ideology of males are not allowed to show their soft side to their partners (as it might make them seem weak), and women are not listening, contribute to the breaking point of their relationships.. so sistas out there... remember to be there to listen to your partners, be supportive! and guys... its totally alright to show your emotional side to us gals... cuz we appreciate that, it really makes us feel appreciated when u come to us for problems -- be it bitching to us we are always glad that u confide in us.
" Men have feelings too and are just as sensitive if not more cos they cannot just cry out to anybody or anyone..... Only to the one they can fully trust and love" -- zender
No comments:
Post a Comment