There's a difference between being weak in the language and refusal to use the language. I've know people who simply dun understand a word of Chinese even when they are brought up in Singapore, educated in Singapore. Just for those who are not Singapore, in Singapore, kids have to do a second language in school right from kindergarten to secondary. Some people get an additional 2 - 3 years studying the language if they op to go to Junior colleges or Pre-Uni Insitutes.
There was an instance where I was shocked to hear that one of the guys I know actually said something like this when someone invited him to watch a Chinese movie.
"They better have English subtitles!"
I can fully understand if someone is not good in reading Chinese. But to me to listen to a conversation or to watch a movie, it's not that hard to comprehend. There are some Chinese characters that I cannot read too. And I haven't been using Chinese since I finished O'Levels. This particular person I know, has been through an additional 2 years of Junior college where he sat for an A'Level Chinese exam. While I do not have a very good command in the language, I do not think that I have problems in communicating in Chinese.
I do agree with Michelle, we are Chinese descendants, it's only right that even thou we cannot read but be able to at least communicate in the language, especially Singaporeans. Some people I know grew up in Australia where to their disadvantage they did not have the chance to learn Chinese at school, they could at least communicate in Chinese dialects or mandarin.
While Cauasians are trying to find Chinese nannies to give their children a head start in learning to speak at least mandarin when young, Singaporeans trying to be westernised and think that it is cool not to be able to speak Chinese! What have we become? A bunch of 臭香蕉 smelly bananas (Yellow on the outside, White inside) like blinky mummy said described? Ofcourse she mentioned that she would not go that far to call people that kind of names, but I would!
I sometimes overhear people say, speaking Chinese is so Cheena (uncool), I would love to tell them you think by not speaking a word of your own language is high class and cool is it? To me you are just a poor soul who got mixed up what your real heritage is. Its truly pathetic on your part isn't it?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
One last act cute picture from Michelle's camera.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This is an extract from the conversation between Zephyr and me, when I showed him my new pictures..
Me: this is what i wrote
Me: Being very much my vain self I took some pictures at home.... Promised Zephyr to show him new pictures of myself... Let's see if I am still a cutie/hottie to him. Ha! Ha!
zephyr: holy crap
zephyr: i'm ready to get on a plane right now and come see you in person
Oh my! Oh y! My head is swelling up again! ^____,^
No comments:
Post a Comment